A Different Kind of Merlin

Having grown up reading Arthurian legends, I was very pleased to see Merlin’s Blade as an option for review. Merlin’s Blade by Robert Treskillard is a different take on the story of King Arthur and Merlin. Rather than being a story based all about Merlin’s magic, instead we find Merlin as an unremarkable swordsmith’s son.

In this story you see the battle of good versus evil played out. The villains in this story, a druid group, are determined to use a strange meteorite ‘demon stone’ to usurp the throne from King Uther, and the future King Arthur. I have to confess, the ‘demonic stone’ was hard for me to follow at times, but I also respect that Treskillard wanted to keep magic limited to objects outside of this world, such as a meteorite rather than inside people.

I have always enjoyed the story of Merlin and King Arthur. I thoroughly appreciated this version as well, because it introduced Jesus/God into the story and made it the ultimate battle between good and evil. In a way, it reminded me of Narnia. Now, for a word of caution, there is a lot of violence in this book, you also see treachery, demonic worship, spiritual visions, and deadly wolves that chase after Merlin. This is definitely not a book for young children; in fact I would caution individuals under the age of 16 from reading this book. There are a lot of concepts to grasp and understand that I believe would be better suited for an older audience. I am happy to recommend this book to the appropriate age level and give it 4/5 stars. Take the time to read this book and future releases from this author!

Thanks again for reading my review, I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to provide a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Kelley 🙂

Comments are Welcome! :)

