Unfriend Yourself

Unfriend Yourself: Three Days to Detox, Discern, and Decide About Social Media by Kyle Tennant was a book I decided to read because I’ve noticed a rise in the usage of social media. The premise of this book is to look at your use of social media from a Christian perspective. The book was short and sweet, and is meant to be read over a weekend. There are daily homework assignments you can do to further your understanding.

While the idea behind this book was great, unfortunately the delivery failed to meet my expectations. Overall it did not seem to be well thought out or developed. It’s almost as if the author said hey, I want to talk about something addicting in society, chose media addiction, and then started flinging things. The arguments presented by Tennant were incomplete and largely predicative on emotion.

I understand and I would be the first to agree that we need to start using social media less. Our culture today is entirely too addicted to sitting on their phone and checking their status rather than interacting with the people around them. In fact, it’s common now-a-days to go into a restaurant and see a whole table full of people on smartphones. That bugs me like nothing else, after all, why bother spending time together if you’re just going to be doing your own thing?

So yes, this book is needed, but the delivery of this book was just not as thought out as I would have hoped. There needs to be empirical data rather than just the author’s opinion or emotional slant. For this reason, I am giving this book 2/5 stars. I would give 1.5 but review sites typically do not let you give a half star.

Thanks for reading!

-Kelley

I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review

Comments are Welcome! :)

