In the Reeds

I have mixed feelings about The Pharoah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews. I will start with what I liked. I really enjoyed this unique take on the story of Moses. I have not seen another story by an author that manages to give such a unique perspective of Moses and his story. However, while I did like looking at the story of Moses through new eyes, I also had issues with how the characters were written.

Our main protagonist Anippe is young when her mother dies during childbirth. As a result, Anippe is adopted by a new family and seemingly destined for a brighter future. If Anippe had been the only child in her family, I would have been fine with this, however, Anippe has a younger sister and older brother. The older brother is destined for the throne and therefore not adopted, meanwhile her younger sister while taken in by her new adoptive family is not adopted and is generally treated poorly by her new adoptive family. For the life of me I cannot understand why Anippe was adopted while her younger sister was not adopted. Anippe grows up with love, while her younger sister grows up being an inconvenience and Anippe has the audacity to wonder why her sister acts out trying to get some sort of attention? For me, I just could not overcome that lack of love and understanding to a sister. Anippe regards her adoptive father as loving even as she sees the general disregard for her sister.

Anyways, I digress. Due to mother’s death, Anippe begins a lifelong fear of bearing a child. As she matures, her father arranges a match for her to Sebak and while she grows to love him, she knows she cannot bear his child. Thus, when she finds Moses in the reeds, she knows that the gods have something in store for her. The story continues with political intrigue and adventure that I will not spoil in this review as you should read it further for yourself. As a result of the character relationships and not so strict adherence to Biblical fact, I give this book 3 out of 5 baskets. If you enjoy Biblical fiction, you should like this book, however I encourage you to keep an open mind and of course read the account in Exodus for yourself.

Comments are Welcome! :)

