War in My Town

War in My Town by E. Graziani is the true story of Bruna Pucci later Bruna Guazzelli as told by her daughter. This story takes place in the town of Eglio, part of the Nazi Gothic Line occupation. While this book is classified as Historical Fiction, for the most part, the book reads almost as a collection of short periods of time as the author seeks to recreate her mothers memories.

What struck me about this story was the interesting pieces of history that were part of the story. Every few chapters, a reminder would be given of what would be taking place around Italy and sometimes other parts of Europe during that time, and then we would see how that impacted the Eglio. I have read many stories about World War 2, but this was the first story I’ve read that focuses on a town just trying to survive.

If you enjoy history and would like to learn a little bit more about the Nazi Gothic Line, this book is a good way to get started. The writing is entertaining and easy to read. For this reason, and because I enjoyed the subject matter, I am giving this book 5/5 stars for being a great memoir.

I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.

Comments are Welcome! :)

