Shattered Blue

Shattered Blue by Lauren Horowitz tells the story of Noa, a girl whose story captivated me from the first sentence. Noa, who recently lost her sister, attends Harlow Academy, a boarding school as a day student. While she used to board there, her sisters death changed things. Noa and her family for many months goes through life almost dead, with little other than her poetry to comfort her, at least until she meets Callum. She finally begins to talk about things and open up. Of course, things are not quite as they seem and as the story continues we see our characters tried and tested.

What I liked the most about this story were the deeply developed characters. Horowitz is simply fantastic at taking even the most non-essential characters and giving them depth. The story was well rounded and the final twist at the end was one I never expected. Even now I am on pins and needles waiting for the continuation of this trilogy.

If you enjoy fantasy books, you will like Shattered Blue, this series has the potential to build and I look forward to Book 2, where we will have a different setting for the novel. Again I find myself wishing I was reading the final book in the series instead of the first, because now I have to wait for the rest to be released! I am giving this book 5/5 faes for a fantastic start to what promises to be an amazing trilogy.

I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review

Comments are Welcome! :)

