The Banished of Muirwood

The Banished of Muirwood by Jeff Wheeler is a great start to a new series. This series is based roughly 100 years after the Legends of Muirwood trilogy. I have not read that trilogy, but found that I could understand a lot of what was going in in this book without having read the previous trilogy.

The Banished of Muirwood tells the story of Maia, a great granddaughter to Lia. Maia grows up in a hard time, where women are unable to read due to events that took place in the past, but somehow, despite that rule, Maia has been learning in secret.

For the first half of the book, I was very confused. There were so many flashbacks, so many twists in the story going on, that I just could not seem to understand who to trust or what to feel. Usually I am able to somewhat predict where a story will go, in Banished of Muirwood, I was constantly kept on my feet, and honestly, I found that refreshing.

What I appreciated most about this story were the vivid descriptions of what was going on, and the strong character of Maia who has endured a nasty divorce and unbearable circumstances to still be a kind and compassionate woman. What I did not like were the gaps in the story, how we would suddenly get from one place to another without any explanation. I will say that as the book progresses, things get more clear, but it still does not answer all the questions.

All in all though, even with that frustration, I would still say that this is a 5/5 book that should be read for its great story that will keep you on your toes. I even believe it seems to have a decidedly Christian persuasion to the writing, which I enjoyed.

I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.

Comments are Welcome! :)

