Music Amidst the Cage Bars

Cage of Deceit by Jennifer Anne Davis is absolutely fantastic! While I would normally take the time to complain about evil cliffhangers, I will have to say that Davis warned in advance that she loves hanging her readers off a cliff and took particular joy in noting this was the beginning of a series. I guess this makes me a glutton for punishment. I found once I started the book, it was impossible to put down, which makes me happy that I read fast, otherwise I’d be up a lot later than 1am finishing this fantastic book.

Cage of Deceit is the story of Allyssa, Crown Princess of Emperion. Allyssa is the daughter of Empress Rema and Emperor Darmik, characters from an earlier trilogy by Davis, The True Reign series a series that I have not read, but now wish to explore. Her whole life she has been raised to eventually take over as ruler of Emperion. While she has met suitors, her parents never took any of them seriously and neither did she…that is until war approached her doorstep, suddenly Allyssa is faced with the very real possibility of marrying a prince she does not like all while encountering his insufferable squire Jarvik.

Cage of Deceit is aptly named. There are twists and turns and trickery afoot. All is not as it seems and it will take all of Allyssa’s wits to serve her Empire well in the days to come. If you enjoy Fantasy novels, this book will be perfect for you. I found it impossible to put this book down and loved all of the characters. Allyssa especially was easy to relate to, that feeling of knowing your duty, and feeling compelled to follow it, even if it makes you feel caged.

I would give this book more than 5 stars if I could, but alas, I can only give it 5/5 stars for a fantastic book, with a great story and awesome characters. You should definitely READ THIS BOOK, but perhaps read The True Reign series first to get some of the background.

I received this book for free in exchange for my honest review.

Comments are Welcome! :)

