Great Idea, but Fails to Deliver

Earth and Sky by Megan Crewe is an adventure through time. This story centers on Skylar, a seventeen-year-old girl who has always felt that everything is not as it seems. One day, while on a school trip to a courthouse, she sees an explosion, yet nothing happens. This is something Skylar has been dealing with for a long time, as once again tries to dispel her hysteria and the growing sense that she might in fact be crazy.

Ever since her brother’s disappearance, she has noticed things out of the ordinary, including a boy near the courthouse. When he shows up at her school the next day, she is convinced and approaches him. When Win tells her that he is from the future and a Kemyate, an alien species that has been influencing Earth’s timeline. At first, Skylar does not believe him, in fact she wants proof that he is who he says he is.

Overall, I had elements I liked and disliked of this book. What I liked was the idea of the story. Time travel is always an interesting concept, how tiny changes can affect the future. I also loved how there was a female heroine, even if she was a bit odd. What I did not like was how she acted so oddly at times. For example, if you’re asking someone to prove that they are who they say they are and they offer to let you travel to ANY period in Earth’s history wouldn’t you choose to visit a time that has perhaps haunted your life and affected every day of your life? Skylar chooses to visit first century AD Rome for her ‘prove it’ dare to Win. Why would she choose that as her test? If I were Skylar I would rather see the day my brother disappeared and find out what happened, maybe even change it if I could. I believe that the author delayed just to have a twist later in the story, but even so, it did not ring true to me.

I am giving this book 3 out of 5 stars for a good concept that just failed to deliver. If anything, Earth and Sky almost reminded me of “Where in Time is Carmen San Diego”, except not near as well put together. I feel the story has the potential to get better and do look forward to reading books 2 and 3 in this trilogy.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Comments are Welcome! :)

