Definitely NOT Forbidden

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury is an advanced copy sneak peak that I received from the publisher through NetGalley. From the short snippet that I looked through, I thought that it was absolutely fantastic. Let me preface this by saying that I have always loved the story of Aladdin. In The Forbidden Wish, we see the story of Aladdin re-imagined, and the results are fantastic.

This is the story of Zahra, a powerful Jinn(Genie) that has been locked away in a lamp for hundreds of years, at least until Aladdin finds and frees her from her prison. In the short preview I had the chance to read we see that Zahra wrestles with a decision and betrayal she made hundreds of years ago. When the opportunity comes to  escape the lamp once and for all, she jumps on it. After all, if she can escape the lamp, no longer be bound to its whims and wishes, surely her life will be better. But when she discovers that to escape the lamp she must betray Aladdin will she do it?

I am eagerly anticipating the release of this book when I can complete the story. Jessica Khoury weaves a unique world that incorporates some of the best elements of Aladdin and A Thousand and One Nights. If you enjoy those fairy tales, you will love The Forbidden Wish. I am giving it 5/5 lamps for an amazing story that I had a hard time placing down.

The Forbidden Wish will be released on February 23, 2016 and can be purchased on Amazon.

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review

Comments are Welcome! :)

