Upending Neverland

Six Points of Light by Kalynn Bayron is a fantastic start to what I hope will be a series on some of our favorite Neverland characters. In Six Points of Light we are introduced to Captain Hook’s origin. For many of us that grew up with the Disney cartoon Peter Pan or Spielberg’s Hook, this will be quite a departure from what we are expecting. Bayron looks at the beloved children’s story and reimagines it. What if Captain Hook were good? What if Peter Pan was not the angelic child that never wanted to grow up? How did they get to Neverland?

If you have ever had any of these questions, then this is the book for you. I have to admit; I grew up LOVING Hook. It was my favorite movie. Robin Williams delivered an amazing performance as Peter Pan and I could quote many of the lines. So coming to this story, a story that would twist one of my favorite childhood stories is never easy. I have to say though, I absolutely adored this reinvention of James Hook formerly James Cook. The story starts out in an orphanage. James is a boy who has always been sick and as a result has lived his entire life at the orphanage, no parents willing to adopt a less than perfect child. Luckily for him though he has a caregiver that loves and cares for him. Sister Maddie is everything that an orphan could want and when no one else could, she makes James feel safe and at home. All of that changes however one night when Peter arrives and suddenly nothing will ever be the same again in James’ life. Peter has the face of an angel but beneath that calm façade lurks a true demon. James hates Peter at first but one day takes him under his wing. To him, Peter is the brother he never had and he pours all of his love in to the boy until one day, something happens that changes everything.

This tale of Neverland is similar in ways to what Once Upon a Time did with Peter Pan but  still different. If you enjoy Neverland, Peter Pan, and Captain Hook, this is one story you will not want to miss. This is a story of love, loss, and belonging. James Hook, Wendy, Peter, John, Michael, Smee, Tiger Lily, and many of the other characters you know and love will never be the same again. For creative ingenuity and an awesome story that I hope continues with another book, I am giving this book 6/6 points of light for an awesome book that I could not put down. It seems long plane rides are good for something…

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

To purchase this book from Amazon, please click this link.

3 thoughts on “Upending Neverland

  1. I got really, really excited when you mentioned Once Upon A Time as I am a massive fan! This looks like such a promising read. I can’t wait to read it! Brilliant review! 😊 (Also, I really like your blog’s layout.)

    • Yes, I am a massive Once Upon a Time fan! I have a friend who lives in California and she and I watch it every Monday at the same time while FaceTiming so we can “Watch it Together.”

      This is a very different take and I think you will really enjoy it.

Comments are Welcome! :)

