Tick Tock

Cogling, by Jordan Elizabeth is a singular story that blends ogres and hags with steampunk coglings. Edna is a young girl who has grown up in poverty for her whole life. Servant to an odious girl just to make ends meet, the best she can hope for herself is a where she serves as a ladies maid. All of her dreams and aspirations are washed away however one night after her brother is taken and switched out for a Cogling. When she finds out of the switch rather violently she is bereft and will need all of her wits about her as she goes on an adventure to retrieve her lost brother along with a thief who knows far more than he lets on.

Cogling was an exciting adventure, fairly well written. While there were a few loose ends, on the whole, I enjoyed this book. My only complaint, aside from some fast transitions in the book was the ending. I felt that the end didn’t give me as much closure as I would have liked. It is not immediately apparent at least at this moment if the author is planning another book, if she does, I feel there is a lot of political tension that still exists and could be explored. For good characters and writing, I am giving Cogling 4/5 stars.

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

To purchase this book from Amazon, please click here.

Comments are Welcome! :)

