Call Forth the Waves

Call Forth the Waves, the second book in the Celestine series by L.J. Hatton is a book that had me riding a wave of myriad emotions. I laughed, I was shocked, and I was sad…in no particular order. A credit to the wonderful writing by L.J. as I engaged in Penn (Penelope’s) story.

In Call Forth the Waves, Penn is on the run, along with her sister and friends. When tragedy strikes early Penn and friends led by Winnie run to a place known as the Mile hoping to find a safe haven. Alas, when you are quite possibly the most unique Celestine at this point, trouble never stays far away. For most of Call Forth the Waves, we see Penn and company on the run trying to stay one step ahead of the Warden’s that will stop at nothing to recapture them.

If you enjoyed the first story, Sing Down the Stars there are similarities in this book. The only thing I would say is, that this book was far faster paced, at least at the end. I felt for most of the story there was really a lack of overall cohesion. Even so, the story did have promise and the characters were refreshing.As such I am giving Call Forth the Waves 4/5 stars for a good story that I enjoyed reading.

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Please click here to purchase this book via Amazon.

 

Comments are Welcome! :)

