Squirrel!

Risuko, by David Kudler is the story of a girl named Kano Murasaki, but because of her climbing prowess, everyone calls her Risuko (Squirrel). Risuko is the story of a girl forced to leave the only home she has ever known. When her mother sells her to the mysterious Lady Chiyome, Risuko does not know quite what to think, especially when she is introduced to two other girls her age named Emi and Toumi. All of this story is told from the perspective of a young girl so at times it is apparent that more is going on, especially with the kunoichi. All three young girls are being trained to become Kunoichi, which even from the start without the author specifically mentioning it, it is apparent they are warriors of some sort. In fact, when I was first reading I thought that Kunoichi were a mixture of geisha and warrior.  Risuko is not entirely sure what to make of all this, especially since she misses her family.

What I liked about Risuko was the unique storyline. This book is geared towards a younger audience and it is really easy to engage with. Another positive to Risuko is the rich storyline and attention to detail. As Risuko is the first in a series, I look forward to future books that will explain more about the school and Risuko’s ultimate role. If you enjoy easy to read stories with a care for details, this is a good book for you. Set in 1500s Japan, be prepared for adventure and even a little mystery. I am giving Risuko 4/5 stars and cannot wait to read more.

I received this book for free from the Publisher through NetGalley.

To purchase this book from Amazon when it releases on June 15, please click here.

3 thoughts on “Squirrel!

  1. Thanks so much, Kelley! I’m really glad that you enjoyed Risuko — and glad that you’re looking forward to the second book, Bright-Eyes.

    You scared me — the book isn’t supposed to be available for another two months. I checked the Amazon page, and it’s still pre-order only, as nearly as I can tell.

    In any case, thanks so much for your review.

    • Hey David! I will update my review, I wrote that back in January where I was actually able to make a review on the Amazon page at that time due to a version of the book that was available. I just scheduled the release of my review to now (closer to the books release). I will go and update my review accordingly.

      Thank you again for reading my review! 🙂

Comments are Welcome! :)

