Sublime Excellence

It is hard for me to find words to express just how amazing I found And I Darken by Kiersten White. From an amazing cover design, to a massive literary universe, to engaging and deep character development, I had a near impossible time placing this book down. If you enjoyed Game of Thrones, And I Darken will be just as incredible, and as a plus, it’s even written at a level appropriate for high school on up without much of the sex and descriptive violence that is nearly the cornerstone of Game of Thrones.

And I Darken is the story of Lada and Radu, two siblings who have spent their whole life immersed in court intrigue. Lada, who has wanted nothing more to have her fathers approval, throwserself tirelessly in to learning to be the best Wallachian that she can be and prove worthy as being the daughter of the dragon. Lada is strong and merciless. Radu meanwhile is soft. Where his sister uses brute strength, Radu takes a much more subtle approach to accomplish his desires. The dynamic between Lada and Radu is one of the more interesting plots in And I Darken simply because it changes so frequently.

While our story starts out in Wallachia, the majority of And I Darken is centered around the Ottomon Courts, where Lana and Radu are hostage to ensure their fathers compliance and loyalty. It is there that they meet Mehmed, the forgotten son of the Sultan and begin to question if Wallachia or the Ottomon Courts are their true home.

If you enjoyed Game of Thrones, you simply must read And I Darken which is the first book in a new series by Kiersten White. This book has history, it has intrigue, and it has a love triangle that throws conventional love triangles upside down. I am giving And I Darken 5/5 stars. Heck, I would give it 10000/5 stars and it still would not be a good enough metric to say just how awesome I found this book. I loved the characters, the locales, and was absolutely enraptured until the very last page.

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

To purchase this book on Amazon when it releases on June 28, please click here.

Comments are Welcome! :)

