A Thrilling Adventure

It’s All Fun and Games by Dave Barrett was a thrilling adventure. While I have never played any tabletop games, I have played various social games and had the pleasure of roleplaying in those games. So I am a bit of a geek/nerd/dork, whatever you want to call it, it probably applies to me! So when I saw the premise of It’s All Fun and Games, I was interested to see where this book could go and I was not disappointed.

This is a crossover between tabletop game nerd and renaissance faire. All in all, I am glad that I had uninterrupted time while on the plane to start and finish this book. It was an extremely easy read and my only regret was that it finished with a sizable cliffhanger that I can only hope will be wrapped up in a sequel. Imagine if you and your friends decided to go off for a weekend and act in character at a renaissance faire. Imagine if during this faire, each of your characters had different powers and abilities and if you had a quest to complete. Now further imagine, if while doing this quest you were suddenly sucked into a place where you were actually the characters and the world that you inhabited was no longer your own and every action you take may have very real ramifications. This is the story of  Allison, TJ, and his LARP (Live-Action Roleplay) group who find a weekend of fun suddenly has become real.

If you enjoy action, adventure, LARP, RP (Roleplay), or any combination of the above, this is definitely the book for you. Just make sure you give yourself uninterrupted time because it is hard to place down. I am giving this 5/5 swords for a fantastic story idea that kept me captured from start to finish.

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

To purchase this book from Amazon on August 2nd when it releases, please click here.

Comments are Welcome! :)

