The Midwife

The Midwife, by Katja Kettu is a well written book that just did not appeal to my preferred style of reading. It was a fiction book where the story progressed via journal entries written to the main protagonists loved one. As such, I had a hard time figuring out what was going on and ultimately engaging with the story. Additionally, some of the medical lingo was a bit too…descriptive for me. There seems to be no name ever given to the female midwife, at least not that I could find in the few chapters that I attempted to read.

Because I did not finish the book, I am only able to comment on the quality of the writing that I read up through the first few chapters. The book begins with a history lesson of the Lapland war and the ultimate withdrawal of the German soldiers from that region. Then it goes in to the journal entry style stories. The author uses beautifully descriptive language to portray the events that took place. For a well written story (of what I was able to read), even if I personally could not engage with the writing style, I am giving the author 4/5.

I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

To purchase this book from Amazon when it releases on October 11, please click here.

Comments are Welcome! :)

